How to Open Chakras With Yoga


Using your yoga practice to open your chakras are a wonderful way to cleanse, restore, energize and bring balance to our daily lives. There are seven chakras in our bodies. These chakras enable energy to flow to through. Should any one of the chakras become blocked; our physical, emotional, and mental well being can falter. Stress, illness, and injury are all things which can occur when our chakras are not aligned or tended too. Therefore, it is vital that the energy flows freely between them. Below are yoga poses which are aimed at opening and freeing each of our Chakras.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra is responsible in maintaining groundedness and stability. Various poses which aid in grounding or “rooting” are:

  • Forward Bend Pose
  • Childs Pose
  • Mountain Pose
  • Savasana

Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)

The Sacral Chakra is located below the navel, in the basin of the pelvic region. This is where sexuality, pleasure, desire, passion and sense of well-being live. Yoga poses benifitial in activating this area are:

  • Pigeon Pose
  • Reverse Warrior
  • Low Lunge
  • Twisting Triangle

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located around the navel area, specifically the the region surrounding the solar plexus and digestive system. This area houses emotions, intuition and balance. To bring forth positivity and relief of stomach qualms, consider the following poses:

  • Seated Spinal Twist
  • Bow Pose
  • Plank Pose
  • Boat Pose

Heart Center Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart Center is located exactly where one would imagine- in the heart. This is where love and compassion live. Yoga poses which nurture this Chakra are:

  • Upward Facing Dog
  • Back Bends
  • Camel Pose
  • Bridge Pose

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Located in the neck, throat, jaw and mouth region, the throat chakra is responsible in creating individual voice and communication. Yoga poses which can aid in opening this chakra are:

  • Fish Pose
  • Plow Pose
  • Seated Cat Cow
  • Bridge Pose

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Located slightly above and between the eyes, this chakra represents self-realization and awareness. Yoga poses that would help the energy flow in this area include:

  • Childs Pose
  • Dolphin Pose
  • Eagle Pose
  • Warrior III

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Also known as the Seat of the Soul, the crown chakra’s function is its ability to accept knowledge and understanding. Meditation is most commonly associated as the go-to yoga pose in activating this chakra, as well as:

  • Lotus Pose
  • Tree Pose
  • Headstands
  • Savasana
I recommend that you check out the most shared quote posts on the internet...

47 Most Famous Motivational Quotes of All-Time

49 Greatest Love Quotes

37 Inspirational Quotes that Will Change Your Life