7 Kundalini Yoga Poses


Ask yourself when was the last time you actually sat down and really thought about what you were doing when you picked up your smartphone to check your email and texts. Have you ever found yourself subconsciously doing small things, even when you reach for your coffee every morning and pick at the candy jar at work. Chances are you have been doing these things for a while. We all have innate behaviors like these every day. Some may actually be beneficial, allowing us to be more productive. However some may actually be interrupting or even putting your life in danger. Your toxic thrills may include eating unhealthy foods, spending unnecessary money, drinking too much alcohol, or even taking back a toxic ex. There is a great chance that you are using these habits as vices to cope with the stress and pain you do not want to deal with.

There many treatment systems and self-help methods that will help you face your demons. This is very important for breaking bad habits. These methods will keep focus on addressing symptoms instead of providing answers as to why you are searching for distractions. Sometimes the only key to this problem is to reach inside of you, This is where meditation and yoga will be a great help. People who practice yoga are aware that mind-body practices will help improve self-control, self-realization, and self-awareness.

Kundalini Yoga is specially designed to strengthen divination and self-discipline. The inventor of Kundalini Yoga, Yogi Bhajan, brought it from India all the way to the West. He was interested in helping people break unhealthy addictions and habits. With this he formed a rehabilitation center in Tuscon, Arizona. This facility is part ashram, and part primary-care for those who are still in recovery. Kundalini yoga is asking you to search for the physical and mental strength to carefully hold repeating actions.

These actions may include using Breath of Fire while holding Half Boat Pose for up to three minutes. When performing each movement, you must ignore your mind’s desire to stop. This is training your nervous system to resist the temptation to quit. It is quite similar to training your muscles at the gym. At first this may not seem fun, but the benefits you reap are irreplaceable. Here are some Kundalini poses you can do that will benefit you in the best way possible.

1. Crow Pose

The First Chakra, is known as the Root Chakra (Muladhara): It is based off of fear, survival.

2. Frog Pose

The Second Chakra,is known as the Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana): It is based off of relationships, desire and creation. You should keep your heels together and keep your fingers firmly on the ground. Once that is done, Inhale through your nose and straighten your knees. Exhale through your nose as you squat down.

3. Stretch Pose

The Third Chakra, is known as the Solar Plexus (Manipura): It is based off of will and action. You should lift your head and feet at least six inches off the ground. You would then bring your arms up, and stare at your toes. Make sure your palms are facing upwards.

4. Camel Pose

The Fourth Chakra, is known as the Heart Chakra (Anahata): It is based off of love. The full camel pose may be too much for you. So you can place your hands in the pocket of your back for support and arch backwards with your head only.

5. Cobra Pose

The Fifth Chakra, known as the Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Communication. You should lie on the ground with your hands under your shoulders with your palms flat on the ground. Then push yourself up with your heart and then let your head follow. Keep your pelvis on the ground.

6. Guru Pranam

The Sixth Chakra, known as the Third Eye (Ajna): It is based off of intuition and wisdom. You should start off by sitting on your heels. Then bring over your torso to your thighs. Then place your forehead on the ground and extend your hands our in front of you on the ground in a prayer position.

7. Sat Kriya

The Seventh Chakra, known as the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): It is based off of transcendence. Start by sitting on the heels of your foot and stretch your arms over your head all while keeping your elbows straight and hugging your ears. Connect all of your fingers except for your index finger, which you will extend. However the direction varies for different genders. Men should cross the right thumb over the left, while women will cross the left thumb over the right. While doing this pose you should be chanting “Sat nam” at a constant rhythm. Do this for about 30 minutes.

Sat Nam means “truth is my identity.” The ultimate goal of Kundalini is to build physical vitality and increase consciousness. Practice these poses to help you reach this goal.

I recommend that you check out the most shared quote posts on the internet...

47 Most Famous Motivational Quotes of All-Time

49 Greatest Love Quotes

37 Inspirational Quotes that Will Change Your Life