What are Chakras in Yoga


According to traditional yoga, chakra is the subtle body, a part that can’t be seen or touched. It is where energy flows. When this energy gets blocked, it triggers mental, emotional or physical imbalances which in turn triggers feelings of anxiety, poor digestion or lethargy. And so, the only way to overcome these complications is by freeing up this energy. Chakra paves the way for an incredible inner shift enabling one to not only change energy but also harness it towards the direction one wishes.

1. Root Chakra

Also known as Muladhara is found at the base of the spine. It represents body and mind stability as well as instincts. Balance in this chakra results to prosperity and health of one’s physical and mental state.

2. Sensual Chakra

Sensual chakra which is located in the lower abdomen represents creativity, pain/pleasure, emotions, and relationships. Balance in this chakra ensures stability in one’s sexuality, emotions, and sensuality.

3. Love Chakra

Love chakra means not struck. It is located at the center of the chest. This chakra relates to acceptance, trust, and love and thus its balance enables one to show compassion and give unconditional love.

4. Power Chakra

This chakra is located between the bottom rib cage and the belly button. It relates to self-esteem, personal power, energy, and wellness hence its balance results to one having purpose, confidence, and motivation.

5. Communication Chakra

This chakra is located at the throat and corresponds to issues of inspiration, faith, expression, and communication, therefore, its balance results to clear and fluent thoughts, wisdom, spoken expression, and creativity.

6. Perception Chakra

It is also known as the third eye chakra and is located between the eyebrows. It is thought to control mental activities such as intelligence, emotions, insight as well as psychic. Hence it enables one to have strong intuition, spiritual awareness and keen intellect and imagination.

7. Connection Chakra

This chakra located at the top of the head is considered to be the center of pure consciousness and wisdom. It is related to issues of devotion, selflessness, spiritual understanding and inspiration. Balance in this chakra ensures a highly developed awareness of emotions to feelings of bliss.

The whirling wheels of energy in chakra directly corresponds with the body’s nervous centers. Each of the seven chakra basics contains major organs, bundles of nerves as well as emotional, spiritual and psychological states of being. And since everything seems to be in motion, it is essential that the seven chakra basics stay open, mobile and balanced as any blockage in either one will result in energy not flowing and consequently things going wrong.

I recommend that you check out the most shared quote posts on the internet...

47 Most Famous Motivational Quotes of All-Time

49 Greatest Love Quotes

37 Inspirational Quotes that Will Change Your Life